Skip to content

Five Minute Fridays: Grateful

November 25, 2011

For only five short, bold, beautiful minutes. Unscripted and unedited. We just write without worrying if it’s just right or not.

Won’t you join us?

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. Most importantly: leave a comment for the person who linked up before you – encouraging them in their writing!

Five minutes on: Grateful.

Start:
I’m grateful for my family. For the peaceful quiet that comes when all are sleeping. For two boys who are beginning to have LONG conversations about jetmilitaryairplanes (ahem, that’s jet military airplanes, said breathlessly and as FAST as you can say it). For their sheer delight when they are with their papa. They can’t get enough of him, and both will sink into him and won’t leave his side. I’m grateful for his patience, his love, and the joy with which he shares games with his sons.

I’m grateful for my husband, for the way he knows and gets me. I’m grateful for yesterday, that it was a long slow day together. ALL of us. What a treat.

I’m grateful for my friends and family, near and far.

I’m grateful for a clean home, oh how happy it makes me. And though I’ve been grateful for the past couple of days at home (having sick boys have kept us home, and oh how nice it has been), I realized I’m grateful for play dates, as commitments get us out of the house, and it’s refreshing to get out and play.

And most of all, I’m grateful for this life, as I’m learning to stop and treasure these little moments, as SF clamors to do more dishes, as S is engrossed in another story, and as Rusty is peacefully laying at our feet. BEING together, loving one another: THIS is good.
Stop.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2011 11:19 pm

    So glad I found your blog through Gypsy Mama! We have two little ones too, and I know for me the unexpectedness of sick days slows me down & resets my pace. Thanks for sharing your heart, filled with gratitude, here.

  2. Growing Flowers permalink
    November 26, 2011 1:00 pm

    Love this! More!

Leave a Reply

