Skip to content

I’m learning

December 1, 2012

–I lead by example. I can ask my boys to get ready until I’m blue in the face, but if I’m not showing with my actions, then we get nowhere. And it’s far nicer when I help them or we get ready together, rather than yelling across our home to “go put your shoes on!”
–I’m working on doing what I say, when I say it.
–if I open my phone, they know I am checked out. So nothing happens until I get off my silly phone.
–if I’m feeling stressed, I need to consciously speak slowly and force myself to use with a lower tone. Then I am calmer, and all of us are more connected.
–when in doubt, open up a book and READ with them. All of us feel more connected, and all of us are happier.
–even though I loooooooove staying up late (and when I am really tired or hungry or cold, I have a verrrry hard time getting up off the couch and moving to my bed), I am so happy once I get to bed, AND I am so much more peaceful the following day. It’s true, I really am stealing from tomorrow when I stay up late. Now I’m working hard to DO this, even when I don’t want to go to bed.
–having slow days at home is really good for us. Now, seeking to find balance (how much is good for us to go out? When to say yes? When to say no?) with when to be out and when to be home.
–I’m striving to be off of Facebook for December. It’s too easy to reach for my phone, when I don’t really need to be on there. Slowly, I’m taking off old habits, and putting on new habits.

What are you learning? How are you growing?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2012 10:24 pm

    I recently got an iPhone so I now understand why you want to be off FB. Good for you! Love your sunrise photo too! I’ve been enjoying the sunsets as I walk out to close up the henhouse. When my kids were little I taught them this chant when we were getting ready to leave the house, “Shoes-potty-coat.” Pretty soon they were trained and it made it so much easier to get out the door.

    • December 6, 2012 9:57 pm

      Thanks for your comment! We’re so blessed to have such beautiful sunrises and sunsets here in NM!

      I’ve been saying or thinking your chant lately, and I’ve appreciated this quick and easy checklist. 🙂

Leave a Reply

