Skip to content

Thankful.

November 30, 2013

Ten minutes to write, and on my phone, too!

I am deeply thankful for yesterday. Not quite a traditional thanksgiving; yet by noticing and appreciating precisely what IS, I am richly blessed and filled with gratitude.

Stopping to listen as each lad needed me, and we did some emotional scrubbing. Listening as the tears and anger flowed, so healing for all of us. Making a delicious lunch for my husband and our boys: turkey, cheese, avocado, and spinach sandwiches, carrots and sugar snap peas and hummus, and on thanksgiving paper plates, a cheerful silly paper tablecloth, and a beautiful flower bouquet. More listening more tears, more love. Piling in a heap on our bed together, peacefully and happily flipping through a catalogue together: all four of us. A yummy snack of egg and bacon burritos, with mango juice. More chicken soup for me. Healing my body. The gaps diet helping. Saying yes to hand in hand, and parenting by connection. It helps all of us, far more than anything else I’ve tried. Reading with S&S. Counting together: practicing by twos, fives, and tens (tens are easy, they say!!). Boys being so proud they’re “so good at math”. S reading so much. Being together. Going for a short walk in the crisp night air, crunching on snow, and seeing the stars together. So, so, so much I am deeply thankful for: it simply takes me shifting my focus and choosing what I focus my heart and eyes on.

20131209-083843.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2013 7:21 pm

    You can cook for me anytime!!

Leave a Reply

