Skip to content

Stepping stones and manna

March 2, 2015

I am humbled and thankful how God provides precisely what we need when we need it. Just enough food for one more meal for our dog (the store was closed last night: thankfully he had enough for dinner and this morning’s breakfast), a delicious meatloaf with ingredients my body has been craving, forty five minutes of sweet and precious conversation over dinner with my sister, a heart nourishing afternoon spent with a dearly beloved friend and her children, details falling in to place for an upcoming trip with our beloved family and treasured old friends, groceries, time in the water to swim and meditate, playing at the park for twenty five minutes with my sons, small answered prayers, God’s strength and compassion flowing through me (while I’m drained and worn out) as I gently respond and guide our precious sons through bedtime routines, dinner together, sweet conversations between the four of us, and so much more. 

These feel like stepping stones and manna, as day by day, breath by breath, step by step, I see that God is present, active, intimately involved in the details of my day, and He is taking care of us. I don’t need to fear the future or fret over what it may hold, that is almost irrelevant. Today, right now I need to pause and pray. Today, I need to focus on what is before me, and work hard to do what I need to do. Placing my day in God’s hands. Praying for His protection and blessing over my day. Asking that He makes all of it count, for Him. Asking for His presence, strength, love, peace, gentleness, and joy to flow through me. Seeking to walk in His ways, step by step with Him. Giving thanks, noticing Him and His gifts, praying continually. Loving Him, loving others. That’s it. And that is enough. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2015 4:39 pm

    Amen, sister! I do wish I could add a playdate together to that list! I miss your calming spirit and sweet reminders of God’s grace and blessings.

  2. March 2, 2015 6:42 pm

    Ah sweet friend, how I would LOVE to add a play date with you to this list. I remain deeply thankful for you and our friendship, and I can’t wait for when we next play together. Sending you and your splendid family so much love.

  3. Lisa permalink
    March 4, 2015 8:38 am

    I’m honored to have you for a friend. I gain so much from your words on paper and in person. Love your hugs and your amazing smile! You are a gift.

Leave a Reply

