Skip to content

Walking with Jesus, moment by moment.

September 16, 2016

Friday, 16 September 2016

“Every day, as long as this ‘today’ lasts,

keep encouraging one another” Hebrews 3:13

I continue to feel a burning in my heart to write and share. I am humbled and in awe of dear ones sharing their hearts with me. I see how so many ache and struggle, and face really hard battles. And yet, each of us continues to show up, and strives to live well and love well through the mundane details of our days. Some days are so hard for me, and yet many other days there is such peace and joy. Through it all, on my darkest days and in my days filled with peace and light, there is such grace and goodness from the nearness of Jesus Christ. I am humbled and thankful for my struggles, as I feel a much greater sense of compassion for when others ache and struggle. Sometimes, through encounters with one another at school dropoffs/pickups/playground exchanges, Facebook and Instagram,  it can be so easy to make assumptions of one another and only see the bright shiny pretty side. And yet the more I learn, the more I am humbled and privileged to hear, I hear of deep heart aching struggles. I ponder how to be vulnerable, how to sit with and in these struggles and suffering, how to listen well and hold the space for one another to share. How to live well, share well, and love well. Brene Brown’s words in Rising Strong  speak such encouragement in to my life and heart.

May I encourage you, dear one, to press in and lean in to Jesus? To love Him, and the ones He places around you? One step, one moment at a time.

I am learning to rest in Him. To trust Him, and to wait. In the trivial and the mundane, in the big and momentous, in and through it all, to rest in Him. I am seeking to walk with Him, moment by moment by moment. Step by step. One breath at a time. Sometimes I don’t have any patience or compassion left, and I ask Him for strength, peace, and help. “Please help me to love, right now. Please help me, to focus and DO this one next thing. Help me to see, ONE step that is before me.” And He does. When I am tired. When I am worried. When I am anxious. When I am stuck. And when I am at peace, thankful, and filled with joy and love. I thank Him for these precious gifts. He is present. All is grace.

Sometimes I long to control, and yet I continue to learn to let go, and trust Him. When we moved to Krakow last year. With our boys schooling. With not knowing Polish, and placing my conversations and exchanges in His hands. With each encounter. With this past summer, ohhhhh how would we spend our days. With right now, settling in to a new school year, with our boys schedules and commitments, with my days and passions and priorities. Trusting Him. Walking with Him. One step, one moment, one day at a time. And Jesus promises,

And behold, I am with you always[ALL OF YOUR DAYS], to the end of the age. Matthew 28:20

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

